A College Preparatory Private School with Two Campuses in Suffolk, VA. Pre-Kindergarten – Grade 12.

Board of Trustees

Leadership and Governance

Members of the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for governance and establishing broad policy that aligns with the school’s mission, vision and strategic goals. The Board of Trustees also provides fiduciary oversight of the school’s operations. The Board of Trustees is responsible for supporting and leading long-range strategic planning and fundraising efforts to ensure Nansemond-Suffolk Academy’s future growth and sustainability.

The Board of Trustees is generally comprised of 15 to 30 members. It strives to reflect diversity consistent with the stated mission of the school. Its members include alumni, current parents, past parents, grandparents and individuals from the broader community who bring particular professional expertise and perspective. Officers are nominated and elected by the full Board each year.

Trustees are elected to serve for a two-year term, and are eligible to serve for two additional, two-year terms upon expiration of their present term.  Trustees are expected to actively support and promote the school’s mission, vision, strategic goals and policy positions as well as fundraise for the school. Standing committees of the Board consist of:

  • Advancement
  • Audit
  • Buildings and Grounds
  • Inclusivity and Multiculturalism
  • Finance
  • Governance

In any given year, ad hoc Committees may be formed to lead various special projects or other strategic initiatives.  


Strategic Plan

We are committed to creating an extraordinary educational environment for our students, faculty and staff. The strategic planning process was a yearlong community-wide effort that engaged all members of the NSA community. Through an online survey, workshops, focus groups and strategic planning sessions, the Strategic Planning Committee was able to gather data and feedback to develop a shared vision for the future. In December 2022, The Board of Trustees unanimously approved a new strategic plan.

The 2023-2027 Strategic Plan highlights four strategic imperatives to ensure that all aspects of the NSA experience are thoughtfully designed with exceptional student outcomes at the forefront. We look forward to your partnership on this journey as we continue to Engage, Inspire and Empower Saints for years to come!

2023-2024 Board of Trustees

W. Ashton Lewis Jr. '90Chair

Vernon M. Towler

Vice Chair

Andrew L. Bolling '92 Treasurer, Finance and audit Committee Chair

Jeanette L. OjedaSecretary

Harry "Lee" Cross IV '97

Advancement Committee Chair

Dr. James E. HammondGovernance Committee Chair

L. Taylor Harrell III

Inclusivity and Multiculturalism Committee Chair

Matthew W. Sawyer '99
Buildings and Grounds Committee Chair